Skip to content

P-Lindy-X PLUS (Part 3 of 4): Yes, I’m Wearing a Bra.

February 25, 2010

May I kindly direct your attention to Exhibit A: Yes, it is a picture of myself wearing a bra, which I did for Breast Cancer research charity, so I’d appreciate it if comments regarding my regalia are kept to a minimum. And yes, it’s very scary photograph, which was taken half-way through a rather impressive shimmy.

More importantly, though my stomach is a blinding whiteness, you can clearly see the light and shadow jig-saw across my stomach, showing the contours of what the jury cannot fail to accept as what is commonly known as a “6-pack.” It’s small and disappears in daylight and on strong exhales, but I now have photographic evidence of its existence.

Regarding the Breast Cancer Research Charity Performance

At London’s Good Night Sweetheart event, the co-founder Trish asked  Peter Strom, Dax Hock, myself and a few other male teachers to put on designer bras to show off for an auction, of course to Burlesque music. Though we were obviously happy to do anything to go twoards Breast Cancer research, I think Kate put it best by saying: “Hey Guys, do you want to do this thing that involves you being funny and getting a lot of attention?”

To Work out or Not to Work Out

My first time through P90X, I was militant about keeping on schedule; I think I missed three workouts, and even added an additional week of exercises in order to complete it knowing I gave it all I could. Partly because of backlash to such a strict schedule, I then stopped working out so regularly, and more and more missed workouts, partially because I still have a bit of that old teenage defiance in me: If I feel like I’m forced to do something I’m not looking froward to, even by my own conscience, it makes me really not want to do it.

So, for P90X Plus, I did one of two things:

(1) I decided that I wouldn’t think of it as a 90 Day program with a goal to get to day 90. I instead thought of it as the first 90 days in a program that I would keep for a much longer time; a 365 goal.

(2) Having felt pride in following the first workout program to an X, I decided to not beat myself up about occasionally missing days in this one: I’m busy, on weekends I work long hours, and students/partners require priority over my energy and strength when I’m working. Also, sometimes I get sick, or (still) overdo workouts, and need a rest day.

So far, this change in mental attitude has worked great, in that I don’t riddle myself with guilt if I miss a workout (for good reasons). However, like Mark Twain himself often noted, I can do anything except in moderation. It’s often hardest to work out after a few days of not working out; that momentum is a lot easier to keep going than start. I think this is probably the number 1 reason why people don’t do well with keeping up with workouts. You almost have to be religious about it to keep up the momentum.

So, basically, I’m still, after a year, trying to figure out who to keep up a healthy mental attitude about working out. It’s very important when I realize, though, that my emotional state is not reflective of reality. By which I mean this:

A year ago, if I was depressed (the usual reason fro missing a workout) and really didn’t feel like working out, I might only work out once or twice in a week. Now, if I’m depressed, I might workout four or five times in a week rather than six. My mental attitude is the same in both situations, but I can accomplish a whole lot more today because of habits, confidence, and getting over the fact that working out is a not-fun way to spend an hour.

I think in a lot of my life I haven’t been able to mentally get over doing things I don’t want too, but know are good for me. It feels good to see I’m getting somewhere in fixing that destructive habit.

Post Script:

All of this reminds me of something I think about often when working out: Aside from getting my body into shape, I was not prepared for how much good working out would have on many other aspects of my life. Just as doing a squat is like practicing for a real life scenario where you’ll have to lift something with the knees, the act of working out itself demands overcoming certain parts of yourself that are great practice for when life makes such demands.

WORKOUT BREAKDOWN: Total Body Plus

P90X PLUS schedules the Total Body Plus workout one day a week. Tony spends the entire intro to this workout plugging all the things you should buy to get the most out of the workout. Luckily, the entire thing isn’t an ad. The workout itself, a glorious 45 minutes, (and that’s all you’re expected to do on the day!) simply sort of just adds legs to the Upper Body Plus workout. Push-ups and Pull Ups are present but not overbearing, there are squats a plenty, but it’d be hard to work out so much you’d not be able to walk the next day, which was always my problem with P90X Legs and Back. And, it has a refreshing way of being almost done before you realize it. I’d say the only flaw with this workout is it really doesn’t travel well. Both Pull-ups and Squats are really annoying with bands, not to mention mention balancing on one leg while pulling weights across your body is almost impossible, and all of that’s a good portion of the workout. Otherwise, well done, Tony Horton.

Though, I have to point out something. In the first push-up–the O-Crunch push-up– if I start off at the same speed as they appear to, and end with the exact same speed Mark does when the camera goes back to him, I get in about 6 or 7 less than he says he gets in. And this move is only 38 seconds–which means he would have to fly to get those push-ups in,  then all of a sudden slow down when the camera goes back to him. Something’s suspicious.

Leave a Reply

