Skip to content

Happy Birthday Swungover! (and The Junk Drawer Dec, 2010)

December 10, 2010

Happy Birthday Swungover!

Swungover is one year old! To celebrate, we had a shindig that ended rather awkwardly, as the picture shows. But, I think all who survived would agree it was one hell of a party.

It’s been a great year, and I’m excited about a lot of things coming up, which I’ll talk about later in this post.

But first…

***

New The “Heavy” Follower addition!

The “Heavy” Follower was by far my most popular post not read by corporate websurfers wondering what p90X is like. I mentioned in the post that I would update it over time if more examples of heavy following came to me or commentators. A few of them mentioned one I thought would be a great and obvious addition, and I’ve hit myself sufficiently for not putting it in the first one. Even though it touches upon similar ideas as earlier parts of the essay, I think it’s prevalent enough to deserve its own number.

13. Follower automatically “sits” into the leader’s arm when he brings her into closed position

Many, many follows will automatically sit into the leaders arm when he brings her into closed position. (And often, it’s at a slightly diagonal angle into his arm.) If it’s more than he’s leading her to, it will feel heavy as well as limit what he can do. Just as an advanced leader may ask for different amounts of counterbalance at different times in open position, he may do the same in closed–a leader should be very specific about how much he’s asking his follower to sit into his arm on swing outs, circles, and other closed position leads, and a follower should be specific about how much she responds.

This one will appear as Number 9 in the Heavy Follower Post.

***

Definition of Jitterbug cleaned up and made a little more presentable

I finally got around to cleaning up the Definition of Jitterbug post, which was a whole lot of fun to research and write. After further thought and research, it’s changed a bit, and is hopefully a little more clearly muddled.

***

New Table of Contents section to make you hopefully not hate the Swungover Table of Contents section

Beginning with this post, at the bottom of the Table of Contents, will be each post in the order of its publishing, just to make things a little bit easier for people looking for a post they might have read in the past few months.

***

Coming Soon at Swungover

I’ve got a lot of exciting things coming up at Swungover, the only problem is they are almost all big-picture things that take a lot of time and attention towards not saying stupid things.

That’s one reason posts recently have been a lot of travel notes and articles on striped socks. But in the next few weeks, be on the lookout soon for the continuing saga of On Judging (I promise), the reboot of Classic Clips 101, some new interesting interviews, and hopefully a surprise or two.

And I want to give a great big thanks to you, my loyal readers. You continue to read Swungover, despite my involvement with dead Victorian prostitutes.

Or, perhaps, because of it.

Any way you look at it, I thank you for making it a great year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jerry permalink
    December 10, 2010 12:18 am

    Congrats. And nice picture. ;)

    • jackthevampire permalink*
      December 10, 2010 1:05 am

      Yeah–I think you took that picture, didn’t you?

  2. Amy permalink
    December 10, 2010 1:03 am

    Congratulations — or happy birthday! I should have known Swungover was a Sagittarius… :)

  3. Jeeves permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:15 am

    You are a Toff of the highest order. Well done sir. I shall be proud to carry your hat and gloves when master Wooster no longer requires my services!!!

Leave a Reply

