Skip to content

The Junk Drawer (September, 2011)

September 1, 2011

HBO trying to throw away money so much it buys a vintage train to run in New York.

http://gothamist.com/2011/09/01/boardwalk_empire_is_bringing_back_o.php#photo-2
Boardwalk Empire is fashioning a 1920s train to make some subway stops in new York during September for a publicity stunt. And, the reviewer mentions Oxford Bags.

The Artist Preview

A new film done in the style of a silent movie is coming out soon, and the preview is below. Try to ignore the “Sing, Sing, Sing = Old Timey” equation Hollywood always uses in previews. It’s actually quite annoying—imagine how much prettier the preview would be with silent-era Chaplin piano-style music, perhaps? Anyway, the film has gotten great reviews and looks very exciting. As these movies often inspire, a new, small surge of beginner dancers may be coming to swing soon. (Especially because, on the plus side, every time Sing, Sing, Sing is played in a preview, a swing dancer is born.)

P90X 2 is coming out soon

That’s right, the makers of P90X are putting out P90X2,and pre-order is open today (though it won’t come out until november/december, probably) supposedly, though I’m still trying to hunt down the info. And we here at Swungover will be one of the first to receive it, and will write reviews. You know, on top of juggling our dancing schedule and Grad school writing classes. Er…my God, what have I done.

Also, I’m on Facebook and Twitter

You can contact me or friend me on Facebook under the name Robert White (Bobby White), or, follow me on twitter, if you’d like to see something I write that’s not three pages long. (Robertwhiteiii)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    September 1, 2011 6:13 pm

    Ooh, ‘The Artist’ looks interesting – I hadn’t heard anything about it, so thanks for sharing that Bobby! (and yes, I quite agree with your assessment of the music in the trailer…)

  2. Thom permalink
    September 2, 2011 6:59 am

    I hadn’t heard about The Artist either. Looking forward to it now.

    We’re not friends on facebook, but I’ve taken many of your classes; you’d recognise me. So given that you suggest we do so, I’m going to add you.

  3. Yossef permalink
    September 2, 2011 9:59 pm

    Obviously they should’ve used “Powerhouse” in the trailer instead.

  4. September 6, 2011 1:34 pm

    One of the sponsors of my blog, Leluxe Clothing, provided the beaded dresses worn in The Artist. The owner, Shane Burroughs, was very excited to have his dresses in the film! http://www.leluxeclothing.com

    I also love Jean Dujardin and his work on the OSS 117 series…*swoon/guffaw*

Leave a Reply

